Ex Die in DIEM

by duncan mcnicholl

The Slope

that we walk on

Monday, 15 October '18 - 6 minutes

Intercontinental

My first time across an ocean

Thursday, 12 October '17 - 2 minutes

Prestressed

Preparation for imminent loads

Sunday, 04 June '17 - 4 minutes

Angular Momentum

That can tear you almost in half when you stop holding it

Tuesday, 07 February '17 - 6 minutes

Cleopatra

from "Cleopatra", by the Lumineers

Monday, 28 November '16 - 2 minutes

Understanding

Knowing someone isn't understanding them

Friday, 11 November '16 - 3 minutes

State Function

It isn't what, it's how

Friday, 12 August '16 - 3 minutes

Stars

On the nature of stellar objects

Tuesday, 09 August '16 - 2 minutes

His Story

Where does the past live?

Tuesday, 09 August '16 - 4 minutes

In The Open

The light web is for talking in public

Monday, 08 August '16 - 5 minutes

Nothing Better

from "Give Up" by The Postal Service

Tuesday, 22 March '16 - 2 minutes

Time

Sometimes when it seems to be getting away from you, it's just being put to use

Saturday, 19 March '16 - 4 minutes

Yeah, you.

On the difference we make

Wednesday, 18 March '15 - 4 minutes

Clouds Edged with Golden Lace

Beautiful sights at special times of day

Tuesday, 28 October '14 - 5 minutes

Little Talks

from "My Head is an Animal", by Of Monsters and Men

Wednesday, 06 August '14 - 2 minutes

Object Permanence

Learning things are forever followed by learning things aren't forever

Tuesday, 05 August '14 - 4 minutes

Time Compass

The inverse of a sundial

Monday, 04 August '14 - 5 minutes

Objects of Importance

Sometimes the value in things lies with where, and how, and why, rather than just what

Sunday, 03 August '14 - 4 minutes

Every Day Carry

What does it have in its pocketses?

Saturday, 02 August '14 - 3 minutes

Wallets

When smaller is better, where does it end?

Friday, 01 August '14 - 3 minutes

h-card

Some ideas are intrinsically elegant enough to justify themselves

Monday, 28 July '14 - 3 minutes

World Spins Madly On

from "Say I Am You" by The Weepies

Sunday, 27 July '14 - 2 minutes

Canonical Data Store

One of the toughest parts of digital nomadism

Saturday, 26 July '14 - 4 minutes

Sleeping Through Earthquakes

You just can't see everything, no matter how hard you try

Thursday, 24 July '14 - 4 minutes

Stories

It's the tales that we tell that show us who we are

Sunday, 23 February '14 - 5 minutes

Gracious

from "Every Kingdom" by Ben Howard

Thursday, 23 January '14 - 2 minutes

Tides

Some things you know, and some things you only think you know

Monday, 09 December '13 - 5 minutes

Glass

Everything you know is a lie… well, maybe not everything

Thursday, 05 September '13 - 6 minutes

Lyratic Resolution

How I came to write my own blog engine

Monday, 08 July '13 - 4 minutes

Fading Away

One day, we all must fade from view…

Saturday, 08 June '13 - 4 minutes

All This and Heaven, Too

from "Ceremonials" by Florence + The Machine

Saturday, 01 June '13 - 2 minutes

Tea

The art of tea making…

Saturday, 13 April '13 - 3 minutes

Stubborn Love

from "The Lumineers" by The Lumineers

Monday, 01 April '13 - 2 minutes

Correspondence

On the noble art of letter-writing

Sunday, 31 March '13 - 3 minutes

Independent Cinema

Because I'm no fan of summer blockbusters.

Monday, 25 March '13 - 3 minutes

Equinox

This is a very special time of year.

Thursday, 21 March '13 - 2 minutes

Encoding

We need to work out translation if we're all to get along

Tuesday, 19 March '13 - 4 minutes

Walk Away

from "Welcome to the Cruel World" by Ben Harper

Monday, 18 March '13 - 2 minutes

Economics

As they say, sometimes it's good to get out of your comfort zone.

Friday, 15 March '13 - 3 minutes

Caledonia

Where are you from?

Wednesday, 13 March '13 - 3 minutes

Impressions

The art that I like, and the reasons I like it

Monday, 11 March '13 - 4 minutes

Circadian Rhythms

I'm afraid to say it, but by choice I'm a daysleeper.

Sunday, 10 March '13 - 3 minutes

Book Review

This week, I have been watching…

Saturday, 09 March '13 - 3 minutes

Auld Reekie

It's easy to take your home for granted.

Wednesday, 06 March '13 - 3 minutes

Batteries Not Included

On the technology we use, and our means of powering it.

Tuesday, 05 March '13 - 3 minutes

Apologies

"I'm terribly sorry that my son pointed out something both obvious and true"

Sunday, 03 March '13 - 3 minutes

Validation

Working towards web standards.

Friday, 01 March '13 - 3 minutes

Dvorak

Learning to touch type took a whole new keyboard layout.

Thursday, 28 February '13 - 4 minutes

It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia

I think spring may have sprung.

Wednesday, 27 February '13 - 3 minutes

Micro Four Thirds

I'm considering swapping out my camera for one that doesn't take pictures as well.

Tuesday, 26 February '13 - 4 minutes

File Formats

Using computers shouldn't be difficult.

Sunday, 24 February '13 - 4 minutes

Ice Cream

The finest ice cream in all Edinburgh lay just across the road…

Saturday, 23 February '13 - 3 minutes

Norwegian with English Subtitles

On why dubbed movies aren't worth watching.

Friday, 22 February '13 - 4 minutes

Styling Travails

On the difficulties of adding a nice button on the web.

Thursday, 21 February '13 - 4 minutes

Motto

The idea of a personal motto has fallen out of favour. Maybe it's time they came back.

Tuesday, 19 February '13 - 3 minutes

Spelling Test

Not many people know how to spell the words that appear in common expressions…

Monday, 18 February '13 - 3 minutes

Times Change

Should we be judging artists for the paths they choose to pursue?

Sunday, 17 February '13 - 3 minutes

Data Redundancy

Details of my quest to remain thoroughly backed up at all times.

Friday, 15 February '13 - 4 minutes

Chocolat

Musings on what I might miss about Edinburgh if I leave.

Wednesday, 13 February '13 - 2 minutes

Quantum of Science

What I've been reading recently.

Tuesday, 12 February '13 - 3 minutes

Happy New Year

The beginning stages of a new blog.

Sunday, 10 February '13 - 2 minutes

Music

The elder blog, in its weirdly-formatted glory

Sunday, 20 January '13 - many, many minutes